TRAVELOGUE: LONDON

london

{From top centre: Monocle Cafe on Chiltern Street/Chiltern Street/Liberty/Manchester Street/Croque Madame at Wolseley’s/Cobbled streets/Smoked salmon and poached eggs on breakfast muffins at Chiltern Firehouse/Breakfast at Monocle Cafe/London Bridge/Food kitchen at Chiltern Fire Station/My reservation at the Booking Office, St. Pancras/Park by Warwick Avenue/A classic electric cinema/Cute packaging: Feel good, recycle.(:/Portobello Rd. market/St. Paul’s cathedral/Doggie soaking up the sun!/Oysters at Colbert’s/Strolling down Little Venice/FCUK’s brilliant advertising/Fish and chips at Golden Union Fish Bar’s/Street stroll}

So, this was my week in London. I mentioned in my previous post that I was both very much and not very much looking forward to it, and here’s why.

Very much because…
It’s London. It’s 13 long hours of anticipation to lots of sightseeing, and coffee at cosy cafes. And I was all set to fly Business Class too. So who wouldn’t be? And not forgetting the chilly winds that let me take out my knitwear, pea coats and wooly things for an appropriate season.(:

And not very much because…
London was a work trip. And I had in mind to keep it just that way, until my boss insisted that I take a train, or a flight from there and go somewhere. I wouldn’t have to think twice if I was earning as much as she was, frankly. But alas, I broke my piggybank and traveled to Rome from there anyway. No regrets, but it could have been easier for me if I had the freedom to visit Rome on a very intentional, totally saved-up-my-whole-life-for reason. You know what I mean.

Anyway, Rome’s up next. Stay tuned!

{photos by Jolene Tan}


p.s. Please check their respective sites for up-to-date business hours as they may vary daily.

Chiltern Firehouse
1 Chiltern St, Marylebone, London W1U 7PA, United Kingdom
Business hours: 6pm – 12am
+44 20 7073 7676

Colbert
50-52 Sloane Square, London SW1W 8AX, United Kingdom
Business hours: 8am – 11pm
+44 20 7730 2804

Golden Union Fish Bar
38 Poland Street, Soho, London W1F 7LY, United Kingdom
Business hours: 11.30am – 10pm
+44 20 7434 1933

Monocle Cafe
18 Chiltern St, London W1U 7QA, United Kingdom
Business hours: 7am – 7pm
+44 20 7135 2040

Portobello Road Market
Portobello Rd, London W10 5TE, United Kingdom
Business hours: 8am – 7pm
+44 20 7727 7684

The Booking Office Bar @ St Pancras
Euston Rd, London, United Kingdom
Business hours: 6.30am – 10pm
+44 20 7841 3566

The Wolseley
160 Piccadilly, London W1J 9EB, United Kingdom
Business hours: 7am – 12am
+44 20 7499 6996

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

