THE CASE WITH (LOCAL) CLIENTS

VENN-Diagram.jpg.scaled1000

It’s about the client. It almost always is.

I didn’t graduate from a design school. Instead, I graduated as a journalism cum media management student. But I love graphic designing. I love reading and researching about them as much as I love trying my hand at it.

I’ve been asked/encouraged/pushed to start a design line of my own by some friends, perhaps a stationery line. And trust me, I would, if I could so afford it. Start printing and selling my designs or something. But I don’t think I’m there yet, in terms of my skills/techniques and even, financially. That said, I’d love to have my own line of stationeries. Some day.

I do some freelance on my own. I write and design a little here and there, which has brought me to the realization that 7 out of 10 times, our (local) clients tend to pick the lousier option of the lot that’s presented to them. It always happens, for some reason. Locally, the graphic design scene seems to be spilling with cheap skate, play-safe, brain-dead, zero creativity, and just-hurry-and-get-the-job-done clients; birthing a generation of graphic designers that require close to a non-existent use of their creative, out-of-the-box thinking skills.

Our (local) clients are not willing to spend good money on good design. But surprisingly, they’d work you for a creative that combines the sun, moon, stars, Hawaii, Godzilla, Captain America, picture of a tabby cat holding a cup of coffee and saying ‘life is good’, the latest Porsche, a montage of runway models – all while paying you peanuts and commenting, ‘this artwork is lacking the BOOM! factor.’ Yup, that’s right. That’s our (local) design scene for you.

One word. Depressing.
Okay, maybe make that two. Pathetically depressing.

Sometimes, I find myself working up a really good piece of design, and for option’s sake, I throw in another okay-level option that I’ve probably put together in the span of me taking a dump. I feel so good and confident about my good piece of design, and then the client goes and picks the shitty one I whipped up for option’s sake. Sometimes, I just feel like telling them “I’m presenting you two designs. But this (the shittier looking one?) is strictly for option’s sake. This (the nicer one I spent half my life putting together) is the one you will pick.” Haha! Truth.

Someday, maybe the cloud of pathetic budgets and tasteless designs will lift to reveal a bigger, better world of fresh, young minds that have been stifled by the aforementioned factors. And hopefully it will not be too late.

{venn diagram by Colin Harman}

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

