LET US DINE!

eat

Today, my client came to me requesting that they wanted the captions I wrote for their Chinese New Year mailer to have a more “Chinese New Year-feel”. Apparently throwing in words like bamboo, fortune, prosperity, lunar and oriental wasn’t enough. In my boss’ own words, “Yes. Tweak it to be so Chinese New Year even the blind can tell.”

So I got to work. And then food blogs happened, and I decided that perhaps rewording the captions could wait till later.

I am so eager to share with you these few recipe gems that I found, that would most likely be what I’d be making some time this December after the Christmas hype has somewhat settled, and the carolling rounds over and done with.

So first on the list is a fiery (and robust, looking at the list of ingredients) dish of Chicken Khao Soi, a northern Thai-inspired curried soup with noodles, followed by the Salmon in Parchment Paper with Horseradish-Yogurt Sauce recipe – with a must-mention that both of these superb recipes with their awesome photography are both from Bon Appetit. And last but not least is something for the sweet toothed – the Maple Buttermilk Custard Pie in the hardcover The Four & Twenty Blackbirds Pie book!

While I’m pretty sure I’d be working on the chicken recipe soon enough, I’m not too sure about the salmon and the dessert though. Not because I have anything against them (heck, I introduced them to you, didn’t I? Haha.) but it’s just…I don’t have an oven. Bummer.

I’ve been meaning to get one but my finances have been all over the place and putting aside oven-money doesn’t seem like a real necessity yet. Well, at least it isn’t for now. But I will definitely be keeping an eye out for a simple, petite oven that would do the job without breaking the bank, because I am very aware that a lot of comfort can come from a fresh-out-of-the-oven something. I don’t have a sweet tooth, if you didn’t already know. But once in a while, a dessert date is welcomed. And for every other occasion, there are tons of baked chicken/fish/vegetables/pasta/pie to highly consider serving up!

So tell me, tell me…what will you be serving or baking up this Christmas?(: Yums.

{Chicken Khao Soi and Salmon with Horseradish-Yogurt Sauce by Bon Appetit/Maple Buttermilk Custard Pie by The Four & Twenty Blackbirds Pie Book on Amazon}

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

