WEEKEND WONDERS: QUE SERA SERA

tumblr_mec9pn9QxP1qajc4eo1_1354343221_cover

If I could be anything, what would I be? A pilot. Or in the navy. That’s what I’d be.

Planes, they fascinate me. Big ships and deep, dark waters intrigue me. I haven’t had any great chances with physics all my life and neither did I have perfect vision – something that was immensely required then, and so there wasn’t the slightest possibility of pilotage for me.

Here I am – styling models, doing shoots, proofreading what seems like a million leafs, squeezing my brains for all the words I can get for an article – no hint of the slightest connection to what I’d love to be someday (in my next life, perhaps). I am however, thankful for the fact that my profession in the creative sector just meant that there was room for all the tattoo-ing I could ever want, without being frowned upon. For real, I get those comparisons with people who work outside of this sector that spends about half of their lives contemplating a tattoo but never getting it because “I need it somewhere less visible”.

I suppose I should be thankful that artists, graphic designers, musicians and people deemed artsy are often imaged in jeans and sneakers, tattoos and some shit of a wild head of hair. Haha. It’s kind of funny but I’d take that!

Perhaps, after much thought, the closest I’d ever get to being part of the navy or an air fleet is a chicken tattoo on my knee and that sexy pair of aviators in my purse made famous by them pilots themselves. Back to the clickety-clacketying of my life now. But before I leave, please enjoy these gems for the weekend! Que sera sera.

p.s.: Why a chicken tattoo on my knee, you ask? I learnt from my visit to Polly Woodside that a chicken on your knee was a tattoo with a nautical charm that prevented sailors from drowning These animals were originally carried on most ships in wooden crates. When a ship goes down these crates would float and then catch currents and wash ashore with the other debris from the ship, making the roosters often the only souls to survive a shipwreck.

Olly Murs and a really, really creative MTV.

Simplicity with a big heart of conscience.

Can I have these new old lights?!(:

MUST: Check this out! It’s too awesome to pass up.

An amazing cookbook for the visualist in everyone. WANT!

The art of clean up. Pretty, pretty piece.

{Que Sera Sera visual by Tumblr}

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

